Tuesday, January 28, 2014

New TMACOG Leadership Elected

At the annual General Assembly of TMACOG members held Tuesday, January 29, 2014, TMACOG members endorsed the nomination of officers. Elected for a 12-month term are:
James M. Sass, chair of TMACOG and president of Ottawa County commissioners
Angela J. Kuhn, vice chair of TMACOG and mayor of the Village of Whitehouse
They replace Carol Contrada, outgoing chair of TMACOG and president of Lucas County Commissioners; Nelson Evans, outgoing vice chair of TMACOG and retired Mayor of Perrysburg, and Don Nalley, outgoing second vice chair and former council member, City of Fremont. The position of second vice chair was eliminated in a bylaw change.

TMACOG President Tony Reams, Vice Chair Angela Kuhn, and Chair Jim Sass.

Monday, January 20, 2014

Construction Summary and Forecast

Northwest Ohio saw a very busy road construction year in 2013 and the completion of several large-scale projects in our region. A few of the major projects completed last year include:
·         Phase 1 of the I-75/I-475 systems interchange in downtown Toledo
·         Complete repaving of the busiest part of Secor Rd. in Toledo
·         Complete repaving of Main St. in Bowling Green
·         Construction of the Wales Rd. grade separation in Northwood
·         A new roundabout at Sylvania/Mitchaw in western Lucas County
·         I-475 safety projects on ramps at both Corey Rd. and Talmadge Rd.

The list of projects for 2014 is now taking shape. Some that will have a significant impact on regional travel include:
·         Grade separation at McCord Rd. in Sylvania Township/Holland
·         I-75 widening in Wood County from Devil’s Hole Rd. in Middleton Township south into Hancock County
·         Rehabilitation of I-75 from Central Ave. to Dorr St. in Toledo
·         Ramp reconfiguration at the US 23/I-475 systems interchange in Sylvania Township

·         Re-decking and repair of the Anthony Wayne Bridge. ODOT estimates that the bridge will be closed for 19 months. This link has more details.

Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments | www.tmacog.org